Busy bees

Just before I came back to work my lovely friend and fellow new mum Sarah gave me some bee pollen tablets. “I have a feeling we’re going to need these” she said.  She too has a little sleep thief on her hands and was worried about being able to function at work.  I’d never heard of taking bee pollen as a supplement before but the claim (from the website she bought them from) is that the pills boost energy and increase stamina.  Hmmmm….. I was a little sceptical but decided to give it a whirl. What’s the harm in taking something natural?  Anything that keeps me reaching for yet more coffee. I can’t provide any scientific evidence that they work but I have to say that for the few days I took them before returning to work I did feel a little more alert during the day and the fridge got a thoroughly good cleaning.

I thought that a bee product was quite apt as a supplement for mums.  Those busy bees constantly buzzing around here, there and everywhere, collecting pollen, maintaining the hive.  Sound familiar?  We are Queen Bees no less.  Mother of the bees in the hive, making the honey at home and at work.   Wikepedia  has informed me that queen bees are, “continuously surrounded by worker bees who meet her every need, giving her food and disposing of her waste.”  Well here the analogy sadly ends, I think Daddy Day Care would draw the line at removing my waste (he only just lets Willow get away with it)!

Waste removal aside I think it’s really important to make sure you are treated like Queen Bee every so often even if it’s just one day a week where you get a cuppa brought to you in bed or have half an hour on the sofa with a magazine.  It’s too easy to forget that we need nurturing too.  If Queen Bee can’t function then the rest of the hive is going to suffer and we all need a bit of honey in our lives.

In the chaos of returning to work I’d completely forgotten about the wonder pills and have just retrieved them from the dark recesses of my handbag this week.  As my eye bags have turned into shopping trolleys I’ve decided to give them another go.  The jury is still out.  I think its more psychosomatic than anything else but whatever gets me through the day I say!

So what keeps you buzzing? Have you tried anything alternative or natural to keep your energy levels up since becoming a parent? I’d love to hear all about them if you want to leave a comment.

Speak soon

Kat x

If you liked this post you can also follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook xx

2 thoughts on “Busy bees

Leave a Reply

