Something for the weekend

Bank holiday comes six times a year,

Days of enjoyment to which everyone cheers!

Bank holiday comes with a six pack of beer,

Then it’s back to work A.G.A.I.N!

-Blur, Parklife (2014)

Ah bank holidays, luscious long weekends that give you licence to go out and get completely sloshed on a Sunday then hibernate in bed all day Monday with a drive through McDonalds and Sound of Music on the TV.  The sun comes out, your friends are out, a ridiculous amount of booze is consumed, everyone giddy with excitement at the thought of an extra day off work. Ace.

Bank%20holiday%20weekend![1]

Or that’s how my hazy post baby brain remembers bank holidays.  I definitely have massive rose tinted specs on when looking back  – not least because such is our British weather it usually pisses it down on a bank holiday.  Our bank hols are very much more sober affairs these days and for three reasons 1. We’re too knackered to go out 2. We’re skint (still playing catch up from maternity pay) 3. The thought of having a hang over with a nine month old Tasmanian devil to care for is enough to put me off drinking forever.  Nearly all our friends are as tired or broke or babysitter-less as us so no FOMO here and you know what?  I don’t feel like I’m missing out at all.

I’m quite smug on a bank holiday Monday when I skip out of bed bank balance and brain cells still in tact. A bank holiday now means an extra precious day with my little lady (and Daddy Day Care), an extra morning where we don’t have to rush getting breakfast and getting dressed.  It’s an extra trip to the park and a go on the swings, it’s an extra walk to the beach, it’s extra cuddles, it’s extra giggles, it’s extra fun! No queuing at the bar like sardines, no hangover, no hassle.

In true bank holiday style our bath sprung a leak into the kitchen shorting the downstairs lights into the bargain. Poor Daddy Day Care has spent most of our lovely extra day removing 2451428[1]hair from the u-bend and trying to fix a cracked thingy that fits to the whatsit (I was listening really hard when he was telling me what was wrong…) But, new water feature aside, we’ve managed to spend lots of time with family and caught up with old friends home for the long weekend (another bank holiday perk).  Go bank hols!

Maybe bank holidays are luring us into a false sense of security. Willow is at an easy age, Sophie the Giraffe and a couple of rice cakes keep her entertained for hours. No constant “I’m bored…” or negotiating the M1 car park on the way back from a soggy camping trip. But when those days come I hope we will still embrace them for what they are – extra family time.

I hope you all had a lovely long weekend with your nearest and dearest.  Leave me a message below and let me know what you got up to  – the good and the not so good stuff. It sucks we now have to wait until Christmas before the next bank holiday.  The good news is I have a three day week – hooray! Back to work A.G.A.I.N!

Speak soon,

Kat x

If you liked this post you can also follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook x

Leave a Reply

